Partenaires

CNRS


Search


Home > The scientific research at the IDEMEC > Workshop Gipsy presences (Présences tsiganes)

Workshop Gipsy presences (Présences tsiganes)


Leader : Marc Bordigoni


Introduction


The creation of this workshop is the logical continuation of the previous work made during the last four-year research contract (2008-2011). It is organized as annual meetings between senior researchers, PhD students and, sometimes, people from outside the research community. Over the years the exchanges have enlarged the comparing area and now, Italian, Belgian, Brazilian or Portuguese researchers participate in these workshop.
The workshop "Gipsy presences" aims at exchanging about experiences and analysis from ethnographic studies and/or original historical sources (such as the French overseas territories’ archives). Exchanges are based on an annual chosen theme. Among the subjects already discussed are the following: "Institutions as a meeting area", "Circulating through Europe and Latin America", "respect" and "Gipsy presence in archives in France, Belgium, Italy, Spain" (this last topic had received special funding from the French Ministry of Culture and Communication in 2009-2010).

The workshop "Gipsy presences" can use a unique documentary collection in France. For several years we acquired many books and documents (French and foreign) and got great donations of books and documents by individuals (Dr. Ely Collection, father Valet). This action received a special funding from the CNRS in 2010 to purchase books and series of reviews on the market of used books into Europe.

The research and documentation gathering works initiated and coordinated by the workshop have a particular meaning at that time when, in many Gipsy communities, it can be observed a transformation of the relationship with family and event memories (World War II and the internment in France, french repatriation from Algeria). A younger literate generation wants to take ownership of a past that can only be accessed by numerous and complex archival sources. This is in itself a change in the identitie buildings and in the relationship with the world of the Gadjo (non-Gipsies) or with politics. There is an increase of Travelling way of life even though 95% of Gipsies are sedentary while maintaining a culture of Moving (H. Asséo). The appropriation of the past can at once bring out the idea of a unity (in front of the Gadjo) and be an opportunity to distinguish themselves again (among the Gipsies communities themselves). These phenomena can be observed, for example, in the development of the Pentecostal trend, or in the diffusion of the worship to Sara, firstly provencal (Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France), which has increased in the last 10 years among the brazilian Gypsies.


News of this research



TELA-TCHAÏ (Martha Winterstein : 1909-1993)

Tela Tchaï was a movie actress before consacrated herself for painting.
Gérard Gartner reconstituted his course of life from different archives.
The extracts of her book, Plasticiens tsiganes (...)

Read more

Collection of official texts

Workshop Gipsy presences

On the occasion of his book’s publishing Gens du Voyage. Droit et vie quotidienne, a collection of french official texts related to the Travellers communities has (...)

Read more

Documentaries

Workshop Gipsy presences

Documentaries are a huge part of documents about the Travellers communities. As well as for other sources of informations, the workshop Présences tsiganes tries to (...)

Read more

The Saint-Marcel Eysseric collection

Workshop Gipsy presences
The Saint-Marcel Eysseric collection comes from a Haute-Provence photographer (1860-1915). It is now property of the Archives départementales des Alpes-de-Haute-Provence. (...)

Read more

Partenaires

CNRS


Rechercher


Accueil > La recherche à l’Idemec > Atelier Présences tsiganes

Atelier Présences tsiganes


Responsable : Marc Bordigoni


Présentation


La création de cet atelier est la suite logique du travail entrepris durant le dernier contrat quadriennal (2008-2011). Il se déroule sous la forme de rencontres annuelles entre chercheurs confirmés, doctorants et quelquefois personnalités extérieures au monde de la recherche. Au fil des ans les échanges ont élargi l’espace de comparaison et ce sont maintenant des collègues italiens, belges, brésiliens ou portugais qui participent à ces journées de travail.
L’atelier « Présences tsiganes » a pour objectif la confrontation des expériences et des analyses à partir de travaux ethnographiques et/ou de sources historiques originales (comme par exemple les archives françaises d’Outre-mer). Son fonctionnement est basé sur l’échange à partir d’un thème annuel choisi. Parmi les sujets déjà abordés, on retiendra : « les institutions comme espace de rencontre », « la circulation en Europe et en Amérique latine », « le respect » et « la présence tsigane dans les archives en France, Belgique, Italie, Espagne » (ce dernier thème a bénéficié d’une subvention du Ministère de la culture et de la communication en 2009-2010).

L’atelier « Présences tsiganes » peut s’appuyer sur un fonds documentaire unique dans l’Université française. Depuis quelques années, l’Idemec a acheté de nombreux ouvrages français et étrangers et bénéficié de dons de livres et de documents par des particuliers (fonds du docteur Ely, fonds du père Valet). Cette action a obtenu le soutien du CNRS par l’attribution en 2010 d’une subvention dédiée à l’acquisition d’ouvrages et de séries de revues sur le marché des ouvrages d’occasion en Europe.

Le travail de recherche et de documentation impulsé et coordonné par l’atelier prend un sens particulier au moment même où, dans nombre de communautés tsiganes, il est possible d’observer une transformation du rapport à la mémoire, qu’elle soit familiale ou évènementielle (la deuxième guerre mondiale et l’internement en France ou le rapatriement d’Algérie). Une jeune génération, lettrée, souhaite pouvoir s’approprier un passé auquel l’accès n’est possible que par des sources d’archives extrêmement nombreuses mais bien souvent complexes. Ce phénomène est en lui-même une transformation dans le mode de constitution des identités, des rapports au monde des Gadjé (non-Tsiganes) ou au politique. Il y a une revalorisation du Voyage (y compris dans l’auto-nomination en France par l’appropriation du terme administratif de « gens du Voyage ») alors même que 95% des Tsiganes sont sédentaires tout en maintenant une culture de la circulation (H. Asséo). L’appropriation du passé peut tout à la fois faire émerger l’idée d’une unité (face aux Gadjé) et être l’occasion de se singulariser de nouveau (parmi les Tsiganes). Ces phénomènes peuvent par exemple être observés dans le développement du mouvement pentecôtiste ou dans la diffusion d’un culte à Sara, originellement provençal (Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer), qui a pris un essor important depuis 10 ans parmi les Tsiganes du Brésil.


La recherche en direct



TELA TCHAÏ (Martha Winterstein : 1909-1993)

Tela Tchaï fut comédienne avant de se consacrer à la peinture. Gérard Gartner a reconstitué son parcours de vie à partir d’archives diverses. Les extraits de son livre, Plasticiens tsiganes(2011) (...)

Lire la suite

Recueil de textes officiels

Atelier Présences tsiganes

À l’occasion de la sortie de son livre Gens du Voyage. Droit et vie quotidienne, un recueil de textes officiels relatifs aux gens du Voyage a été élaboré par Marc (...)

Lire la suite

Documentaires

Atelier Présences tsiganes
Les documents audiovisuels représentent une part importante de la documentation globale plus ou moins récente qui concerne les communautés du Voyage. Comme il le fait pour (...)

Lire la suite

Le fonds Saint-Marcel Eysseric

Atelier Présences tsiganes
Le fonds Saint-Marcel Eysseric est celui d’un photographe de Haute-Provence (1860-1915). Il est conservé aux Archives départementales des Alpes-de-Haute-Provence. Dans ce (...)

Lire la suite